IAPP Announces 2023 Privacy Award Winners

Privacy Professionals Recognized at the IAPP Global Privacy Summit 2023 as Winners of Leadership Award, Diversity in Privacy Award, and Global Vanguard Awards - North America & Latin America

PORTSMOUTH, N.H. – April 3, 2023 – The International Association of Privacy Professionals (IAPP), the largest and most comprehensive global information privacy community and resource, today announces Jules Polonetsky as the winner of the IAPP Leadership Award, Stephen Reynolds as the winner of the Diversity in Privacy Award, Peggy Eisenhauer as the winner of the Global Vanguard Award - North America, and Marcos Semola as the winner of the Global Vanguard Award - Latin America.

“This year, the IAPP is proud to recognize four outstanding individuals for their invaluable contributions to the privacy profession,” said J. Trevor Hughes, president and CEO of the IAPP. “From navigating the shifting regulatory landscape, to helping foster a more diverse and inclusive environment, to acting as global leaders in the field, this year’s class of IAPP award winners has truly helped define what it means to be a privacy professional.”

IAPP Leadership Award
Selected by the IAPP leadership and announced at the Global Privacy Summit every year, the Leadership Award recognizes an individual or organization who demonstrates an ongoing commitment to furthering privacy policy, promoting recognition of privacy issues and advancing the growth and visibility of the profession.

This year’s recipient of the IAPP Leadership Award is Jules Polonetsky, CIPP/US.

For 15 years, Jules has served as the CEO of the Future of Privacy Forum, a global non-profit organization that serves as a catalyst for privacy leadership and scholarship, advancing principled data practices in support of emerging technologies.

He has led the development of numerous codes of conduct, best practices and assisted in the drafting of data protection legislation and presented expert testimony with agencies and legislatures around the world.

Jules was previously the CPO of AOL and of DoubleClick, the Consumer Affairs Commissioner of NYC, a state legislator and a congressional staffer. He served on the founding board of the IAPP.

Diversity in Privacy Award
This inaugural award is given annually to an IAPP member who demonstrates leadership in the promotion of equity and inclusion in the privacy field. The IAPP is proud to recognize Stephen Reynolds as the first winner of the Diversity in Privacy Award.

Stephen Reynolds is a member of Baker McKenzie’s North America Intellectual Property & Technology Practice where he frequently advises clients on complex matters involving data security and privacy laws. Stephen’s expertise adds value to organizations by mitigating cyber threats through proactive preventative measures and navigating complex litigation on behalf of clients in data security and privacy . Stephen serves on the IAPP Board of Directors and as a Privacy Mentor leader, founded the Minorities in Privacy Affinity Group, and later turned this group into an officially recognized IAPP Diversity in Privacy Section which has over 1,400 members worldwide.

Vanguard Award
The IAPP Privacy Vanguard Awards recognize one IAPP member from five geographical regions—Asia, EMEA, Latin America (including Mexico), North America (U.S. and Canada) and Oceania—who have achieved greatness in leadership, knowledge and creativity in the field of privacy and data protection. Winners are chosen by volunteer judges from each award region.

This year the IAPP is proud to award Peggy Eisenhauer the Global Vanguard Award - North America and Marcos Semola the Global Vanguard Award - Latin America.

Peggy Eisenhauer is the founder of Privacy & Information Management Services, an Atlanta, Georgia-based law firm. She has extensive experience with U.S. and international privacy laws and industry best practices for managing consumer, customer and employee information. In addition to her law degree, she has a Master of Science in Information & Computer Science from Georgia Tech. Peggy is recognized both by Chambers Global and Chambers USA in the areas of privacy and data security.

Marcos Semola is an EY Cybersecurity Consulting Partner LATAM, leader of the Data Privacy and Protection services in the region, and a governance, risk and compliance expert with over 33 years of experience at Schlumberger, Atos and Shell in Brazil, England and Holland. For over 23 years, Marcos has served as an MBA professor at FGV business school and has published 8 information security books. Marcos was the Vice-President and founder of ISACA Rio chapter now acting as an advisor, is a member of IAPP and guest advisor of the Brazilian IoT Association, American Chamber of Commerce and of the Cybersecurity Enterprise Council of Brazil. Latest book can be found at infosecuritybook.com

IAPP Vanguard Award winners from the Asia, Oceania and EMEA regions will be announced later this year.

To see recent winners for IAPP’s annual awards, please visit https://iapp.org/connect/annual-awards/.

About the IAPP
The International Association of Privacy Professionals is the largest and most comprehensive global information privacy community and resource. Founded in 2000, the IAPP is a not-for-profit organization that helps define, promote and improve the privacy profession globally. More information about the IAPP is available at www.iapp.org.