IAPP Announces New Board of Directors and Executive Committee Members

Appointees Include Prominent Privacy Leaders at IBM, Prosus and Cooley

PORTSMOUTH, N.H. – 30 January 2024 – The International Association of Privacy Professionals (IAPP), the largest and most comprehensive global professional association for privacy and AI governance, today announced the addition of three new directors to its board for 2024, including Christina Montgomery, Vice President and Chief Privacy & Trust Officer at IBM; Monika Tomczak-Gorlikowska Global Head of Privacy at Prosus; and Travis LeBlanc, Global Co-Chair of the cyber/data/privacy practice at Cooley. Faith Myers has been elected Chair.

“Our 2024 board of directors represents the breadth of privacy and AI governance on a global stage,” said J. Trevor Hughes, President and CEO of the IAPP. “Our board’s combined expertise in the current regulatory landscape and ability to guide organizations through significant technological changes and advancements will be crucial as the IAPP continues to expand our services and offerings.”

Christina Montgomery is IBM’s Vice President and Chief Privacy & Trust Officer, overseeing the company’s global privacy program, policies, compliance and strategy. She also chairs IBM’s AI Ethics Board, a multi-disciplinary team responsible for the governance of AI and emerging technologies. Christina has served in various roles at IBM, including Corporate Secretary to the Board of Directors. A global leader in AI Ethics and governance, Christina is a member of the United States’ National AI Advisory Committee (NAIAC), established in 2022 to advise the President and the National AI Initiative Office on a range of topics related to AI, and the U.S. Chamber of Commerce AI Commission. Christina is an Advisory Board Member of the Future of Privacy Forum (FPF), Advisory Council Member of the Center for Information Policy Leadership (CIPL), and a member of the AI Governance Advisory Board for the International Association of Privacy Professionals (IAPP). She received a B.A. from Binghamton University and a J.D. from Harvard Law School.

Monika Tomczak-Gorlikowska is the Global Head of Privacy for the Prosus Group - a multinational consumer internet group and one of the largest technology investors in the world. Monika began her career at the Legal Service of the General Secretariat of the Council of the EU in Brussels. She is now based in Amsterdam and previously was the Senior Data Privacy Legal Counsel at Shell International Limited in London. Monika is a licensed attorney (adwokat) with over 25-years in practice. Prior to her in-house tenures she was in private practice, including at the offices of Miller, Canfield in Poland. She holds a Master of European Law degree (LLM cum laude) from the Law Department of the College of Europe in Brugge (Belgium). Monika has also served as Co-Chair of the Steering Committee of the Forum on International Privacy Law and a member of the IAPP European Advisory Board. Monika is also hexalingual: she speaks English, French, Spanish, Italian, Polish and Portuguese fluently.

Travis LeBlanc is global co-chair of the cyber/data/privacy practice at Cooley LLP in Washington, D.C. and San Francisco. He is also a Presidentially-nominated and Senate-confirmed Member of the U.S. Privacy and Civil Liberties Oversight Board. LeBlanc was previously the Federal Communications Commission’s Enforcement Bureau Chief and earlier served as senior advisor to California Attorney General Kamala Harris, where he oversaw California’s complex litigation and policy in areas such as high-tech crime, cybersecurity, and privacy. He also worked in the U.S. Department of Justice’s Office of Legal Counsel and was appointed in 2017 as an arbitrator of disputes under the EU-U.S. Privacy Shield Framework. He currently serves on the board of the Center for Democracy & Technology (CDT) and the advisory boards of the Electronic Privacy Information Center (EPIC), The Future of Privacy Forum (FPF), and Center for Information Technology Policy (CITP). A.B., Princeton University; M.P.A., Harvard University; J.D., Yale Law School; LL.M., University of Cambridge.

Additionally, the IAPP welcomes its newly elected executive committee for 2024, including:

  • Chair: Faith Myers (CIPP/E, CIPP/US, CIPM, FIP), Privacy Officer & Vice President at McKesson Corporation
  • Vice Chair: Caroline Louveaux (CIPP/E, CIPM), CPO at Mastercard
  • Past Chair: Mikko Niva, Global Privacy Officer for Vodafone
  • Treasurer: Barbara Cosgrove (CIPP/E), Vice President and Chief Privacy Officer at Workday
  • Secretary: Anna Gamvros (CIPP/A, CIPT, FIP), Partner, Head of Information Governance, Privacy and Cybersecurity at APAC

“The role of the privacy professional continues to increase in scope and organizational responsibility, with no signs of slowing. I am excited to welcome such knowledgeable and experienced privacy leaders to the Executive Committee and I know we are ready to not only support and evolve our profession but help chart a path through the shifting digital landscape,” said IAPP chair Faith Myers.

To learn more about the IAPP please visit www.iapp.org.

About the IAPP
The International Association of Privacy Professionals is the largest and most comprehensive global information privacy community and resource. Founded in 2000, the IAPP is a not-for-profit organization that helps define, promote and improve the privacy profession globally. More information about the IAPP is available at www.iapp.org.