Megan Knight, CIPP/E, CIPM, FIP


Westpac Banking Corporation

Executive Manager Privacy Compliance

Megan Knight is an experienced legal and compliance professional with specialist knowledge in privacy and financial crime.  She has more than 30 years’ experience in the financial services sector and 20 years’ experience in privacy.


Megan is currently Executive Manager Privacy for Westpac’s Group Privacy Program. Previous roles include Enterprise Data Privacy and Ethics Lead at Australia and New Zealand Banking Group Limited responsible for the senior leadership of privacy and ethics across ANZ globally, and Senior Manager Privacy Compliance & Australia Privacy Officer at ANZ.  Megan’s earlier career involved a variety of corporate banking, legal and compliance roles at Standard Chartered Bank Australia Limited, National Mutual Royal Bank Limited and ANZ.


Megan’s specialisation in privacy commenced in 2001 with the extension of the Privacy Act 1988 to the private sector.  She is experienced in privacy policy writing, data breach assessment and regulatory notification, privacy impact assessments, privacy compliance management and complaint handling.


Megan has presented on privacy at the Office of the Victorian Information Commissioner Privacy Network, Forefront Events Data Protection & Privacy Briefing, IAPP Melbourne KnowledgeNet Chapter, Deloitte Australia Privacy Index 2018 Melbourne Launch and the RI Advice Group annual conference 2018. 

Megan has a Bachelor of Business (Bus. Admin) with Distinction from RMIT University, Bachelor of Laws with Honours from Deakin University, IAPP CIPM and CIPP/E designations and a Diploma in Applied Anti-Money Laundering and Counter-Terrorism Financing Management from the International Compliance Association.  Megan is admitted to practice as a legal practitioner in Victoria.


Contributions by Megan Knight

  • Member of ANZ Advisory Board 2024 - 2025
  • Rewriting the Privacy Playbook: End-of-year gala
    Speaker at In-Person Melbourne KnowledgeNet: 04 Dec. 2023
  • Member of ANZ Advisory Board 2022 - 2024
  • Member of ANZ Advisory Board 2020 - 2021