Henry Velasquez Yanez, CIPP/E




Henry is an international data privacy and tech Lawyer with more than 15 years of experience in data protection, cybersecurity, intellectual property, and tech innovation.

Currently, Henry is working for Publicis Groupe (the world's third largest communications group and one of the leading companies in the digital marketing and advertising industry), acting as delegate of the Global Data Privacy Office (GDPO), responsible for South EU & LATAM region.

Prior to this role, Henry served as EU Data Protection Officer for Cigna, a global health service and insurance company; and as a lead manager of the data privacy, governance, risk, and compliance practice at top-tier Spanish law firms, advising high-profile companies from multiple sectors and industries (insurance, health, media, IT, Telecom, etc).

Henry earned several Master of Law (LL.M) degrees in “Data protection and New Technologies Law” and “Intellectual property” issued by Complutense University of Madrid (UCM) and Carlos III University of Madrid (UC3M) respectively. He is also holds the IAPP’s CIPP/E Certification, as well as CDPP Certification issued by the ISMS Forum (Spain).

Henry is a data privacy enthusiast who enjoys teaching and interacting with the privacy community. He is one of the coordinators of the master's degree in “Data Protection and Information Security” at UCM, and He frequently participates as a speaker/lecturer/teacher in multiple institutions and forums such as: Privacy, Law & Business; Interactive Advertising Bureau (IAB); National University of Distance Education (UNED); Distinguished Bar Association of Madrid (ICAM); Data Privacy Institute (DPI); ISMS Forum, amongst others.

Henry is an active member of the IAPP, member of the European Advisory Board, and former chair of the KnowledgeNet Chapter in Spain.


Contributions by Henry Velasquez Yanez

  • Innovation, Technology and Personal Data: Horizon and challenges in 2024
    Speaker at In-Person Madrid KnowledgeNet: 14 Feb. 2024
  • Member of European Advisory Board 2023 - 2024