IAPP Vanguard Awards

Now Accepting Nominations for 2023 until Thursday, February 2nd at 5:00 pm EST.

The IAPP Vanguard Awards honor privacy professionals whose pioneering work helps shape the future of privacy and data protection.

About the Awards

The IAPP Privacy Vanguard Awards recognize one IAPP member from five geographical regions—Asia, EMEA, Latin America (including Mexico), North America (U.S. and Canada) and Oceania—each year who demonstrate exceptional leadership, expertise and creativity in privacy and data protection.

About the Nominations

The nomination of an individual should include a description of the nominee's work, including a short but descriptive summary of specific projects or programs the nominee has worked on, including innovative ventures, substantiated savings, etc., along with one letter of recommendation. Nominators are required to verify the accuracy of the information provided in the nominations they submit. Nominees may also be required to confirm their information.

Who is eligible?

We seek individuals who are critical and exceptional performers in helping advance privacy and data protection. They can be rising stars who are setting a new bar for others to aspire to, or seasoned veterans who deserve to be celebrated for an exemplary career.


Entries are first screened to verify eligibility. Each entry is then individually evaluated according to official judging criteria. After reviewing the nomination materials and additional evidence, KnowledgeNet Chapter representatives of each Vanguard region select a winner by majority vote.

Throughout the judging process, IAPP representatives may contact the candidates, nominating parties, authors of support letters and other individuals relating to the nomination to verify or gain additional information.


1. Applications are due at 5 p.m. EST on February 2, 2023.

2. Nominee must be a current IAPP member.

3. Most answers have word limits. These are hard-coded into the form and cannot be exceeded.

4. Video links or links to outside websites are not allowed.

5. Applications that fail to meet these criteria may be disqualified.


Apply Now

Questions? Email awards@iapp.org