There is a difference between sharing and sending content, Humu Chief Privacy Officer Lea Kissner writes. When content is sent, data is passed to the possession of another entity; however, shared content can still be seen by the data's original owner. In the latest installment in a series of Privacy Tech posts on privacy engineering and user experience design, Kissner explains how shared content usually has access control lists. These lists control who can take action on a particular piece of content, but they can also be hard for users to understand. "This is the simple rule of thumb for what users need to see to make them comprehensible: who, why and how to make it stop," Kissner writes.
If you want to comment on this post, you need to login.