A group of the nation’s largest telecommunications companies have founded the 21st Century Privacy Coalition, Adweek reports. The coalition will be co-chaired by former Federal Trade Commission Chairman Jon Leibowitz and former U.S. Rep. Mary Bono. Founding members include AT&T, Comcast, CTIA-The Wireless Association, Directv, Time Warner Cable, Verizon and the U.S. Telecom Association. In an exclusive interview with the IAPP, Bono said the coalition has nothing to do with the recent NSA revelations and has in fact been in the works for some time, dating back to when she was still serving as chairwoman for the Subcommittee of Commerce, Manufacturing and Trade. “It was clear there was a need,” she said.
Full Story


If you want to comment on this post, you need to login