The IAPP welcomes three new directors to its board. Joining the board are Stanley W. Crosley, CIPP, chief privacy officer, Eli Lilly and Co.; Jeff Green, CIPP/C, vice president, global compliance and chief privacy officer, Royal Bank of Canada (RBC); and Brian Tretick, CIPP, executive director, Ernst & Young.

Crosley initiated Eli Lilly’s global privacy program in 1998 and currently serves as chief privacy officer. He also sits on the Institute of Medicine Medical Research and Privacy Committee and board of the Indiana Health Informatics Corporation, and served on the State Alliance for eHealth Privacy Taskforce. He is a co-founder and chair of the International Pharmaceutical Privacy Consortium (IPPC).

Green is chief privacy officer for RBC, Canada’s largest bank and one of North America’s leading diversified financial services companies. Green is responsible for overseeing the strategic management of privacy and information risk on an enterprise-wide basis, as well as leading RBC’s compliance management strategy and program for Global Technology & Operations and Global Functions.

Tretick is Ernst & Young’s executive director for the firm’s Privacy Advisory Services, a role he has performed for more than a decade. He also served on the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA) Privacy Task Force.

“I’m proud to welcome these top privacy leaders to our board,” said IAPP President Jonathan D. Avila, CIPP, vice president – counsel, chief privacy officer, The Walt Disney Company. “Their input and insights will help us achieve our main goals in 2009: launching new international initiatives and serving the evolving needs of our membership and the privacy community on a global scale.”

The IAPP also recognizes the promotion of four current directors to leadership roles.

  • Jonathan D. Avila, CIPP, vice president – counsel, chief privacy officer, The Walt Disney Company, to serve as President
  • Nuala O’Connor Kelly, CIPP/G, chief privacy leader, General Electric Company, to serve as Vice President
  • Amy Yates, CIPP, director, privacy and data protection, Deloitte & Touche LLP, to serve as Secretary
  • David Hoffman, CIPP, director of security policy and global privacy officer, Intel Corp., will continue to serve as Treasurer
  • Sandra R. Hughes, CIPP, global ethics, compliance and privacy executive, The Procter & Gamble Company, has successfully completed a very full term as President, and will continue to serve as Past President.


If you want to comment on this post, you need to login.


Board of Directors

See the esteemed group of leaders shaping the future of the IAPP.

Contact Us

Need someone to talk to? We’re here for you.

IAPP Staff

Looking for someone specific? Visit the staff directory.

Learn more about the IAPP»

Daily Dashboard

The day’s top stories from around the world

Privacy Perspectives

Where the real conversations in privacy happen

The Privacy Advisor

Original reporting and feature articles on the latest privacy developments

Privacy Tracker

Alerts and legal analysis of legislative trends

Privacy Tech

Exploring the technology of privacy

Canada Dashboard Digest

A roundup of the top Canadian privacy news

Europe Data Protection Digest

A roundup of the top European data protection news

Asia-Pacific Dashboard Digest

A roundup of the top privacy news from the Asia-Pacific region

Latin America Dashboard Digest

A roundup of the top privacy news from Latin America

IAPP Westin Research Center

Original works. Groundbreaking research. Emerging scholars.

Get more News »

IAPP Communities

Meet locally with privacy pros, dive deep into specialized topics or connect over common interests. Find your Community in KnowledgeNet Chapters, Sections and Affinity Groups.

IAPP Job Board

Looking for a new challenge, or need to hire your next privacy pro? The IAPP Job Board is the answer.

Join the Privacy List

Have ideas? Need advice? Subscribe to the Privacy List. It’s crowdsourcing, with an exceptional crowd.

We Need You! Call for Volunteers is Now Open!

Is 2017 your year? Advisory Board Leader and KnowledgeNet Chapter Chair opportunities abound! Learn more.

Find more ways to Connect »

Find a Privacy Training Class

Two-day privacy training classes are held around the world. See the complete schedule now.

NEW! Raise Staff Awareness

Equip all your data-handling staff to reduce privacy risk, with Privacy Core™ e-learning essentials.

Online Privacy Training

Build your knowledge. The privacy know-how you need is just a click away.

The Training Post—Can’t-Miss Training Updates

Subscribe now to get the latest alerts on training opportunities around the world.

Upcoming Web Conferences

See our list of upcoming web conferences. Just log on, listen in and learn!

Train Your Team

Get your team up to speed on privacy by bringing IAPP training to your organization.

Learn more »

CIPP Certification

The global standard for the go-to person for privacy laws, regulations and frameworks

CIPM Certification

The first and only privacy certification for professionals who manage day-to-day operations

CIPT Certification

The industry benchmark for IT professionals worldwide to validate their knowledge of privacy requirements

NEW! FIP Designation

Recognizing the advanced knowledge and issue-spotting skills a privacy pro must attain in today’s complex world of data privacy.

Certify Your Staff

Find out how you can bring the world’s only globally recognized privacy certification to a group in your organization.

Learn more about IAPP certification »

IAPP-OneTrust PIA Platform

Simplify privacy impact assessments with this cloud-based customizable platform - free to IAPP members!

72% say privacy is now a board-level concern

Find out more about privacy governance in the IAPP-EY Annual Privacy Governance Report 2016.

Privacy Vendor List

Find a privacy vendor to meet your needs with our filterable list of global service providers.

IAPP Communities

Meet locally with privacy pros, dive deep into specialized topics or connect over common interests. Find your Community in KnowledgeNet Chapters, Sections and Affinity Groups.

More Resources »

Time to Get to Work at the Congress

It's almost here! Thought leadership, a thriving community and unrivaled education...the Congress prepares you for the challenges ahead. Register now!

Plan for the Summit

The world’s premier privacy conference returns with the sharpest minds, unparalleled programs and preeminent networking opportunities. Registration opens December 19!

Intensive Education at the Practical Privacy Series

The Series is returning to DC, this year spotlighting Data Breach, FTC and Consumer Privacy, GDPR and Government privacy issues. It’s the education you need now!

Speak at the Symposium

The call for speakers is open! The Symposium returns to Toronto this Spring and programming is now underway. Looking to share your privacy prowess? Submit by November 20!

Sponsor an Event

Increase visibility for your organization—check out sponsorship opportunities today.

More Conferences »

Become a Member

Start taking advantage of the many IAPP member benefits today

Corporate Members

See our list of high-profile corporate members—and find out why you should become one, too

Renew Your Membership

Don’t miss out for a minute—continue accessing your benefits

Join the IAPP»